diy: christmas yarn wreath

It’s time for holiday crafts!! My month is filling up really quickly, and I NEED to make some time for painting, but I couldn’t resist making something new for Christmas. So, I spent the Thanksgiving holiday working on this yarn wreath with felt Christmas bows. Cute, right?

Here’s what you’ll need:

a wreath form
batting
sheer ribbon or tulle
thick yarn (the thicker the better)
felt for bows
thumb tacks
a stapler
a hot glue gun

 

And here is a step by step guide. Enjoy!

1) Wrap the wreath form with the batting. Use thumb tacks on what will be the back of the wreath to secure the batting.

2) Wrap the form in tulle or a sheer ribbon. I’m not sure this step was totally necessary, but it made the wrapping of the yarn easier. Again, secure the tulle with a thumb tack.

3) Wrap the wreath form in your yarn of choice. A bit tedious, but cathartic. Tie off the end when you finish.

5) Now it’s time to decorate it! I decide to make Christmas bows out of strips of felt. I found a great tutorial on How About Orange. Cut a 9×12 sheet of felt into 9 strips, about 1/2 inch each. Luckily, straight strips weren’t necessary, as I obviously didn’t achieve them.

6) Cut one inch off three of the strips and two inches of three of the strips.

7) Twist the strips into figure-eights and staple them in the middle.

8 ) Using a hot glue gun, glue the figure-eights one on top on another. Use a scrap piece of felt to create a little loop to glue to the top of the bow. Experiment with sizes and colors. Attach the bows as you see fit onto the wreath. I used push pins to attach them  instead of glue in case I want to use the base wreath for a non-Christmas decoration. 

What are your favorite Christmas crafts?



make my day. leave me a comment!